Arizona VFW District 10

Serving central Arizona

Taps Cpl Jeffrey Aaron Burks USMC

Veteran obituary

On October 25, 2013 we lost a comrade, Marine and son. Cpl Jeffrey Aaron Burks, originally from Toledo Ohio, served in the USMC from 2001-2005 and was an Iraq veteran. After receiving his honorable discharge, Jeff was immediately put on 100% disability and moved to Casa Grande to live with his father. Jeff was a free spirit that had a driven passion for guitar, drums, singing and riding his motorcycle. Jeff leaves his dad and stepmom, Jeff and Cyndi; his mom and stepdad, Val and Tracey Ball; his siblings, Pam (Jeff), Winnie, Jeni, Greg (Nikki), Amy (Jason), Jessie (Scott) whom he loved so dearly.

Jeffrey and his Father Jeff

Jeffrey and his Father Jeff

Jeff was a member of Chandler Post 7401, but he did on occasion visit the Casa Grande Post 1677. As fellow veterans and VFW members, it is our duty to engage and welcome ALL veterans and seek out the veterans that need our support. When a grieving parent walks into your post and asks if you knew or met their son/daughter I hope the answer is yes.

Taps, No More Pain!

District 10 and all of our posts salute you Cpl Jeffrey Aaron Burks 8-9-83 to 10-25-2013

24 comments on “Taps Cpl Jeffrey Aaron Burks USMC

  1. adamsdeanaz
    October 30, 2013

    We really need seek out our veterans coming home and let them know we are here for them.

  2. jeff burks (dad)
    October 30, 2013

    This is a beautiful posting to complete the honoring and saying goodbye for now son. I will visit yoursmile again someday. I love you

    • Mary
      October 31, 2013

      So sorry for your lose….. what a beautiful write up. May your memories of
      Jeffery keep him close in your heart!!!

  3. Kari Brackett
    October 30, 2013

    It is hard to express the grief in the loss of such a young mans life. You are missed Uncle Jeff.

  4. Donna Hallock
    October 30, 2013

    What a wonderful way to say goodbye and show tribute to jeff.

  5. Melissa
    October 30, 2013

    Beautiful- only knew him through a special friend if his but know he was amazing 😦 sending strength

    • Kellie Zeno
      November 5, 2013

      Thank you Melz, for honoring him through your kind words.

  6. Lori
    October 30, 2013

    I went to high school with Jeff he has such an amazing personality and kind spirit. My thoughts and prayers are with all of his family and friends.

  7. Christine
    October 30, 2013

    Love and peace to my family. Aunt Val, Uncle Jeff and the girls. Thinking of you all and sending hugs!

  8. Comedian Will C
    October 31, 2013

    I’m glad I got to know Jeffrey, Semper Fi brother!!!

  9. Julie Fornwald
    October 31, 2013

    Rest in paradise Jeffy! Thank you for your service to our country! May God bless all your family and friends, and may they find comfort in remembering the good times. Our thoughts and prayers are with you all. Julie, Cameron, Courtney, and Cole.

  10. Carol barrick Ortega
    October 31, 2013

    Jeff I only meet you a few times years ago… u were always a great spirit ti be around. Gid bless try he family nn I know they’ll miss you dearly…see you again jeff…

  11. Kelly D - CO
    October 31, 2013

    What an amazing tribute….I had the honor of meeting him and seeing him laugh…I know he was loved by many. RIP Jeffrey you are at peace now.

    • Kellie Zeno
      November 5, 2013

      LK, Thank you for honoring and remembering our Jeffrey. The night of the movie, photobooth and peeing frogs will ever be a fond memory.

  12. Ahlia A
    October 31, 2013

    Very sad loss. Jeff and I were friends in High School and I remember him as a friendly, and fun loving person. May he rest in peace.

  13. Kellie Zeno
    October 31, 2013

    Jeffrey, I am so proud of your service. Yet so angry about the toll it took on you. Your smile could light up room. From the moment we met you were my hero. I was so blessed to have loved and been loved by you. But our time was just too short. I only had you in my life for three short years. But you will be in my heart for the rest of my lifetime. I love you..

  14. Barbara Knights-Hale
    October 31, 2013

    Jeff, I know now that you are at peace. Thank you for honoring our country and your service to the United States of America. It was wonderful knowing such a person. Thank you for being there to share Bethany and Al’s special day. Be in Peace. Patrick and Barbara Hale

  15. Vickie Kreger
    October 31, 2013

    I remember the first day I ever saw you; you were on my very first volleyball team @ Temperance Road School. Those eyes and smile of this picture is the very same eyes and smile (just a smaller version, years ago) I saw many years ago. You will be forever burnt in my memory and will never be forgotten and of course your mad skills at volleyball didn’t hurt either! You and your sister (I believe it was your sister) was standing at the gym doors waiting to be invited in, so I invited you both in. It was my pleasure “Jeffy Burks” to have you on my team years ago and teach you the game of volleyball.

    Thank you for your service! Because of what the war did to you GOD must have a much bigger and better plan for you: Perhaps, guarding him at his gates? Enjoy your new mission “Jeffrey Aaron Burks”.

    My condolences go out to all your family and friends during this time of sorrow. Please gather peace from his rest and amazement from all the lives that your Son, Brother, Cousins and Friends and defender of our country touched, Including mine!

    Rest in Peace, Never Forgotten!

    “Hero” ~Jeffrey Burks~

    Much Sadness,
    Vickie Kreger

  16. Paulette Pawlowski Szkudlarek
    November 2, 2013

    So sorry to about your Jeff! Blessings from your old neighbor on Peru St.

  17. adamsdeanaz
    November 2, 2013

    Jeff was a member of post 7401 in Chandler, I fixed the story my apologies.

  18. thedmancometh
    November 5, 2013

    I never had the blessing of meeting Jeffrey,but as a fellow veteran I honor his memory.Our Marines will always be my favorite fellow members of our elite fighting forces as in 20 years in the navy I made many great friendships with this wonderful group of heroes.May God bless and keep him and may He comfort and give true peace to all his family and loved ones.The Few,The Brave,The Proud.Just one more hero gone home.

  19. Kellie Zeno
    November 5, 2013

    Thank you for your kind words and your prayers. You honor him and in so doing, you bring pride and some comfort to the people who love him dearly. Thank you for your service.

  20. talitha
    January 7, 2014

    ((JEFFREY BURKS))
    ~You have a place in my heart forever, I miss you sooooo much,
    “BROWN-CHICKEN-BROWN-COW!” haha! you always made me laugh Im sorry for
    not being a better friend, i love you JEFF and i will see u again someday!!!

    your friend forever,
    ((~TALITHA~))

  21. jeff burks, sr.
    March 11, 2014

    Still miss you dearly buddy. Ive started playing a little music again, but its not the same. Cy thoughts still havent convinced me, you are safe and sound. I always told you, i would be there, protecting my lost sheep, if you need me, please let me know in some wayand ill be ter….love you more than life itself

Leave a Reply

